Choice?

The Calvinists believe in predestination. The Arminians believe you can lose your salvation. Who is right?

Answer: Both, and neither. Now, if I were a professional theologian, I would be able to argue the merits of each position and possibly persuade someone of my position.

Fortunately, I’m not a professional theologian, and I have no particular dog in this hunt. I don’t care what you believe. God might care, but that’s between you and Him.

What I’m finding in scripture is a curious basis for both positions, coupled with potential issues and problems cropping up from various verses that might appear to contradict each position. Whew.

The scripture certainly speaks of those that are predestined. It speaks of at least one who was hated, and presumably damned, at birth. It also speaks of those who will be martyred, as well as those who will be alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord.

Our problem seems to be that there is an academic custom to paint all Christians with a broad brush. My view is that this does violence to the scriptures and does not reflect the truth. Getting into further detail would require a lengthy study that I’m not yet ready to attempt.

But the only point I wanted to make here is that I, and some that I personally know, can’t really say that our salvation was a choice.

Maybe some of you have similar testimonies. For myself, and for these that I mentioned, the choice for Jesus Christ was similar to the decision whether or not to walk out of a burning building. Yes, I suppose we could have chosen to perish in the flames.

But when the Spirit presents the truth and consequences of your choice, and by a simple but devastating display of Ultimate Authority, lays them before your face in an awesome moment of epiphany, I dare say there was, in effect, no choice.

One response to “Choice?

  1. And God, in his sovereignty, might just offer choice to some and then pick and choose others. Pharaoh and the man born blind. The problem is mysterious, and one thing perhaps can be discerned; that if man has free will, it did not create itself, and therefore, is subject to the limitations placed on it by its creator. That is to say, that God is sovereign even over man’s free will.

Leave a Reply

