the walking dead

So how do you cope with knowing that most of the people you see every day are walking dead?

I’m referring to the spirtually dead. We all know the flesh dies; that is not news, nor should it shock anyone. Even though it may be socially incorrect to discuss this eventuality in certain circles.

But it causes great pain, to God first and most, and to the rest of us as well, as we come to grips with it.

Randy Maugans taked about this on his last show. And of the pain it causes believers with a heart for the lost.

We have some idea as to why they are lost, but powerless to do anything about it.

Except maybe to plant a seed of truth here and there, hoping it takes root. But those of us who have been doing some of that know full well what a precarious scenario that can be.

I suppose believers go through a kind of grieving process after having faced this realization fully. Much has been written on the ‘stages of grief’, and much more has been written debunking the very notion of any such ‘stages’, given that grief is different for every person.

Worse still it is for someone who has been carrying the torch of salvation doing ministry work. In that case, there seem to be coherent stages, but knowing them does little to comfort the pain. So to lighten the impact, perhaps we should borrow from a bit of wisdom I learned while working for a Research & Development facility in the 80s:

FIVE PHASES OF A PROJECT

  • 1. Panic
  • 2. Disillusionment
  • 3. Search for the guilty
  • 4. Punishment of the innocent
  • 5. Praise and Honors for the non-participants

A little levity in a dark situation comforts the soul, and I hope it’s clear that I say this not to belittle or mock, but to show that I understand. Been there, done that, bought the T-shirt.

It happened to me during the patriot movement in the 90’s. ¬†And it’s why I left it. But that doesn’t help those confronting this today.

Maybe it would help to to get an inkling for why people stubbornly keep their heads in the sand. Here are some lyrics from ELP’s 1971 Tarkus LP.

People are stirred, moved by the Word.
Kneel at the shrine, deceived by the wine.
How was the earth conceived? Infinite space.
Is there such a place?
You must believe in the human race.

(Keith Emerson)

That is the problem right there. The ‘lost’, as we call them, believe in the human race. I quit believing in the 90’s. You should too.

2 responses to “the walking dead

  1. ELP was one of my brother’s favorite bands and our first family dog was named Tarkus. My brother was given the honor of naming him which my parents immediately regretted. ha!

    Anyway, yes this is HUGE – interacting with, living with, loving people we know are lost. It’s brutal. (A man’s enemies will be those of his own household – I learned that one almost immediately.) We also learn by experience that the true Gospel really is supernatural…and the delusion too is supernatural. I mean I knew this in my head but I didn’t fully understand it until I experienced it with my own family. The Truth will not be heard by an individual unless it’s the will of the Father….which brings up the choice and predestination thing…truly a paradox that probably we won’t ever really grasp on this side of the veil.

  2. Thanks Steve for this post. I remember trying so hard to show my brothers the truth. In my early walk with the Lord I just knew if I opened my Bible and just showed them what is written there they would understand but they didn’t. This sent me deeper into the word trying to understand why can’t they see this. My heart was breaking and I shed a river of tears. When we finally grasp what the scriptures say in:

    2Th 2:10 And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; because they received not the love of the truth, that they might be saved.
    2Th 2:11 And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie:
    2Th 2:12 That they all might be damned who believed not the truth, but had pleasure in unrighteousness.

    We come to the realization that to continue to try and get them to see the truth we are fighting God. There is one more scripture that helps us understand what is going on here. It is found in

    Eze 14:1 Then came certain of the elders of Israel unto me, and sat before me.
    Eze 14:2 And the word of the LORD came unto me, saying,
    Eze 14:3 Son of man, these men have set up their idols in their heart, and put the stumblingblock of their iniquity before their face: should I be inquired of at all by them?
    Eze 14:4 Therefore speak unto them, and say unto them, Thus saith the Lord GOD; Every man of the house of Israel that setteth up his idols in his heart, and putteth the stumblingblock of his iniquity before his face, and cometh to the prophet; the LORD will answer him that cometh according to the multitude of his idols;
    Eze 14:5 That I may take the house of Israel in their own heart, because they are all estranged from me through their idols.
    Eze 14:6 Therefore say unto the house of Israel, Thus saith the Lord GOD; Repent, and turn yourselves from your idols; and turn away your faces from all your abominations.

    We now understand that the church is divided into three groups. The serpents, the scorpions and the multitude and only the multitude will finally come to the truth. I understand how hard it is to come to that place that there are people we know and love that will never embrace the truth. God Bless, Jan

Leave a Reply

